How To Watch Twilight Movies in Order (Chronologically)

If you are wanting to revisit the most alluring vampire-fantasy saga, Twilight, here is how to watch all the Twilight movies in order.

The series, Twilight, is based on Stephenie Meyer’s novel and follows a young Bella (played by Kristen Stewart) as she moves to a small town in Washington with her dad.

There, Bella meets Edward Cullen (played by Robert Pattinson), a strange student who comes to be known as a vampire.

The Twilight movie series captivated audiences worldwide and achieved massive box office success. 10 years after its conclusion, the movies remain extremely popular. The Twilight Saga includes all 5 movies, which follow the story of Bella Swan and her romance with the vampire Edward Cullen.

If you want to watch the movies again or experience them for the first time, here is the order of the films:

Twilight Movies in Order:

  • Twilight– November 21, 2008
  • The Twilight Saga: New Moon– November 20, 2009
  • The Twilight Saga: Eclipse– June 30, 2010
  • The Twilight Saga: Breaking DawnPart 1 – November 18, 2011
  • The Twilight Saga: Breaking DawnPart 2 – November 16, 2012

Twilight Films in Chronological Order


The Twilight saga is easy to follow as the 5 films were released one after the other with no gaps. Here’s a recap of every Twilight film:

The first film in the Twilight series was released in 2008 and it follows Bella Swan, a human, who falls in love with Edward Cullen, a vampire. The second film, New Moon, was released in 2009 and it follows Bella as she deals with Edward’s decision to leave her.

The third film, Eclipse, was released in 2010 and it sees Bella having to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob Black.

The fourth film, Breaking Dawn – Part 1, was released in 2011 and it focuses on Bella and Edward’s wedding as well as the birth of their daughter. The fifth and final film in the series, Breaking Dawn – Part 2, was released in 2012 and it wraps up the story of Bella, Edward and their family.

1. Twilight


The first movie in the Twilight saga was released in 2008. It tells the story of Bella, who moves to a small town in Washington with her father Charlie, who is a police chief.

Bella meets Edward, a mysterious student who turns out to be a hundred-year-old vampire. Edward is drawn to Bella’s blood, and she is drawn to his world of supernatural beings. Another clan of vampires marks Bella as a target, and the Cullens must protect her from them.

2. The Twilight Saga: New Moon

The story continues in 2009 with the release of New Moon, the second saga in the series. In it, Edward decides it would be best for Bella if he left town with the Cullens to protect her from harm.

After he’s gone, Bella becomes close friends with Jacob who helps her through her depression. Soon after, she learns that Jacob is a werewolf and part of the Quileute tribe.

It’s also worth noting that vampires and werewolves are natural enemies. Despite this, the tribe and Cullens have a relatively peaceful relationship.


Bella finally meets Edward towards the end of the film, and she’s introduced to Volturi – the ruling class of vampire elites who set the rules for vampire society. Bella’s given an ultimatum – either be killed or turned, because she knows too much about vampires.

3. The Twilight Saga: Eclipse


In the next installment, Eclipse, Bella and Edward face Victoria’s return to Forks with an army of newborn vampires.

The Cullens and werewolves agree to fight together against the army of newborn vampires. Amidst all the chaos and fighting, Jacon learns of Bella’s decision to marry Edward and turn into a vampire.

4. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1


The fourth film, Breaking Dawn Part 1, was released in 2011. The fourth book of the series has been broken up into two movies as the events of Eclipse pick up a few months after Edward and Bella’s wedding.

Bella becomes pregnant with a vampire-hybrid child on her honeymoon that could possibly kill her.

When Jacob and the werewolf tribe find out about the baby, they decide to get rid of the threat as no one knows what the child will turn out to be.

Bella has a baby girl, who she names Renesmee. Jacob falls in love with the child at first sight and pledges to protect her from the other werewolves. Bella finds it difficult to adjust to her new life as a vampire, with Edward pushing her to embrace her new abilities.

5. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 2


The final instalment in the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn Part 2, sees Bella awake transformed into a vampire. She adapted well to the changes in her body. However, the Volturi soon learned of her existence and believed her to be an ‘Immortal Child’ – a human baby turned into a vampire is considered taboo.


Edward and Bella attempted to convince allies and friends to help fight against the Volturi in order to prove them wrong and save Renesmee. Alice showed the Volturi the possible outcomes of the battle if they refused to stand down. In doing so, she changed their mind.

Twilight Movies Ranked on Rotten Tomatoes 

Here is the rank of Twilight movies according to audience scores on Rotten Tomatoes:

  • Twilight – 72%
  • The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2 – 70%
  • The Twilight Saga: New Moon – 61%
  • The Twilight Saga: Eclipse – 60%
  • The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 – 60% 

Is Twilight on Netflix?

The Twilight movies are available on Netflix, but only in a few regions. If you cannot find Twilight movies on Netflix from your region, follow the steps below:

Here’s how to watch all Twilight movies on Netflix:

A VPN is a great way to get around geo-restrictions. My top recommendation is ExpressVPN, which has great unblocking strength for Netflix.

Here’s how to use a VPN to watch Twilight on Netflix:

  1. Download the VPN application on your device.
  2. Sign in and search for servers.
  3. Connect to a US server (or Canada, UK, Germany, etc.)
  4. Go to Netflix and search for Twilight.
  5. Happy streaming!

If you’re a fan of fantasy movies, you can watch the Lord of the Rings films on Netflix. The Hobbit movies are also available, as is the Pretty Little Liars Netflix series. You can even binge-watch Hunger Games on Netflix, though it’s not available in a few regions.

Leave a Comment